To My (Future) Daughter

To My (Future) Daughter

Dear My Future Daughter,

At this moment, I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what colour your eyes are, or what your laughter sounds like, or the way you dance when you’re happy. I don’t know what will make you cry, or what injustice angers you, or what gives you fear. I don’t know what your favorite character in literature is, or which movie is your favorite to watch with a pint of ice cream, or where your favourite holiday spot in the world is. There’s a lot of things I don’t know about you.

But what I do know is that regardless of who you are, I love you so much. I’ll love you at all times – from when I first carry you in my arms, to when I tuck you into bed, to when I help you with your homework, to when I attend your graduation, to when I kiss you goodbye at your wedding, to when I hug your very own children. I want you to know that.

Mummy isn’t perfect. There will be times when I embarrass you in front of friends. There will be times when I might not understand you. There will be times when I might get angry and frustrated. Please forgive me. I would never do anything intentionally to hurt you. I’m only human, so I’ll have my fair share of mistakes. Just know that whatever I do (or don’t do), I still love you 100%.

I don’t know how much older I will be than you. But just because I might seem outdated or old-fashioned, please don’t be afraid to confide in me. I’ll never judge you because I’ve been where you are. I know how scary it can seem to grow up. I know how awkward puberty can get. I know how tough it is to be a “well-rounded” kid. And speaking of “well-rounded,” that’s just another one of those silly labels that society creates that doesn’t mean anything remotely important. Blaze your own path instead. Be yourself. Because you are beautiful.

Most importantly, I hope you understand that my love for you is merely a speck of dust when compared to the love somebody else has for you. No, not Daddy! The person I’m referring to actually isn’t a person – he is God. It sounds crazy to think that all of my love for you is so infinitely small when put beside God’s love for you. He loves you soooooo much that he gave me and Daddy the wonderful gift of bringing you to life. He is always there for you.

So if I’m ever not the Mommy that you deserve, please know that God will take care of you. Please tell me, so I know what I’m doing wrong. And please pray for me to improve. That’s all I will ever ask of you.

No words can sum up how excited I am to meet you in the future. Meanwhile, I’ll be praying that God will prepare me for you, that he will shape me into a more compassionate, responsible, empathetic, and loving person. You are such a special person. I’ll see you soon.

Lots of love,

Mummy

Leave a Reply

